REAL LIFE

Hello Stargazers! Get Ready For The Lunar Event Of The Decade Happening Tomorrow, July 27

Date July 26, 2018 18:15

Lunar eclipses are quite a spectacle to behold, not just for stargazers but also by other everyday people. Tomorrow, July 27, the world will witness another interesting event. And there is something special about this eclipse. It happens to be a “blood moon”.

The phenomenon occurs when the moon passes through the Earth’s shadow and takes on a reddish tint, almost like the entire rock was covered in blood. Another thing that makes this eclipse special is that it will be the longest eclipse of the century, being visible for 1hour and 43minutes.

READ ALSO: Rare Lunar Phenomenon Of The Blood Moon That Happens Once In 150 Years Will Light Up The Sky In July 2018

The total eclipse will occur between 7:30 p.m. UTC (3:30 p.m. Eastern) and 9:13 p.m. UTC (5:13 p.m. Eastern). Roughly an hour before and after the total eclipse, the moon will be partially eclipsed. Maximum eclipse will occur at 8:22 p.m. UTC (4:22 p.m. Eastern).

Here is a selection of amazing lunar eclipse pictures over the years.

August 2017

February 2017

2016

December 2010

2009

June 2018

 

Tonight’s blood moon from my front garden. #moon #lunareclipse #bloodmoon

A post shared by Mark Duff (@markwduff) on

June 2018

 

A post shared by @rightsideofmike on

READ ALSO: Amazing Photos Of The Super Blue Blood Moon In 2018

August 2017

 

A post shared by Blend Media (@blend360media) on

July 2009

Stargazers in East Africa and Central Asia will be treated to a full view of the phenomenon, while those in Western Africa, Eastern Asia, South America, Europe, and Australia will only have a partial view of it. And to make it even exciting, Mars will be at its closest point to Earth in the past 15 years and will be quite visible in the sky as well.

February 2017

EHoss / Imgur

April 2014

2inrex / Imgur

October 2014

2io4cd / Imgur

September 2015

awkwardstare / Imgur

If standing outside under the stars is not your thing you can catch the entire show on The Virtual Telescope Project livestream starting at 6:30 p.m. UTC (2:30 p.m. Eastern). timeanddate.com will begin streaming at 6:00 p.m. UTC (2:00 p.m. Eastern).

READ ALSO: 4 Amazing "Heavenly" Events Not To Be Missed In 2018