FOOD

Is Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped Corn

Date January 28, 2020 23:58

Is Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornIs Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornIs Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornOxana Denezhkina / Shutterstock.com

There is something unique and nostalgic about popcorn that fills many of us with sweet memories. As for me, it’s the memory of eating delicious popcorn for family movie nights. For others maybe it’s about something else. I remember my neighbors stringing popcorn onto a garland to decorate a Christmas tree. What else can be associated with popcorn? Everyone has their own story to share. I love popcorn, but is it healthy? What is popcorn? Is it gluten-gree? Is it possible to make popcorn at home?

Generally speaking, popcorn is nothing but corn kernels that puff up when heated. Corn is gluten-free, so in most cases, popcorn is gluten-free. However, this question is a lot trickier than you could imagine. In some cases, popcorn may contain trace gluten. In this detailed article, we will find out why popcorn may contain gluten and how to select gluten-free popcorn products.

Is Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornIs Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornIs Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped Cornvirtu studio/ Shutterstock.com

Is popcorn gluten-free?

Popcorn is naturally gluten-free, as it is made from corn, which doesn’t include gluten. Actually, corn is approved as a safe option for people with celiac disease. Corn can be an alternative to wheat for those who have gluten intolerance. In other words, most people with gluten sensitivity can consume enjoy corn products without health consequences.

However, you should remember that corn also contains specific proteins called maize prolamins, which can cause problems. Some people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance are sensitive to these proteins.

In overall terms, popcorn is gluten-free, but some people may have intolerances to specific proteins in it.

Corn products may contain gluten

At the same time, some popcorn products may contain gluten. How is it possible? The problem isn’t with the corn – it’s related to the processing and cross-contamination with gluten-containing products.

Moreover, popcorn may be made using certain additives that contain gluten. And don't forget about flavored popcorn as it may also contain gluten. For example, here is a list of most common gluten-containing ingredients that can be used for manufacturing popcorn: wheat starch, malt flavoring, and soy sauce.

Is Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornIs Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornIs Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornSingle woman watching movies in the night sitting on a couchAntonio Guillem / Shutterstock.com

How to choose popcorn

First of all, choose popcorn without flavorings or other additives if you have gluten intolerance or other forms of gluten sensitivity. Pay attention to the ingredient list and pick a popcorn product that states only “popcorn” or includes corn kernels and salt.

It is always a great idea to choose corn products that are labeled gluten-free. Companies are required to indicate common food allergens on the labels. So if you see wheat on the ingredient list, it is better to avoid this product.

You can also communicate manufactures directly to know more about their processes and ingredients. Better safe than sorry!

Is movie theater popcorn gluten-free?

If you a movie lover, you may want to know whether movie theater popcorn is gluten-free or not. You are unlikely to find a cinema that provides popcorn that is labeled “gluten-free,” however, it doesn't mean that you are at risk. Generally, popcorn is naturally gluten-free, so you may enjoy it safely.

However, remember that even if popcorn in your local cinema is gluten-free, the cooking oil and popcorn salt may contain dairy or soy.

Is Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornIs Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornIs Popcorn Gluten Free And How To Make Homemade Popped CornNestor Rizhniak / Shutterstock.com

If you have high sensitivity to trace gluten, the safest option is to avoid cinema popcorn at all.

How to make homemade gluten-free popcorn

Looking for delicious gluten-free popcorn? Make it yourself! With amazing homemade recipes, it is simpler than you think. You don't need to be a chef to cook fresh, hot and tasty popcorn on your own.

All you need are popcorn kernels and heat. If you have a popcorn maker, it is great. But if you don't, it is not a problem too. You can use a microwave or a pan.

How to make gluten-free popcorn without a microwave:

1. Start with a large pan with a tight-fitting lid. Add two tablespoons of high-heat oil, choose carefully as you don't want scorched popcorn.

2. Heat the oil over medium-high heat, then add two-three popcorn kernels to see if they pop.

3. If you hear the popping sound, the process starts. Remove the pan from the heat for several seconds and add 1/2 cup of popcorn kernels. Leave it for a few minutes and don't forget to put the lid on.

4. Put the pan back on the heat and wait until kernels pop. Shake the pan carefully to improve the result.

5. When the popping slows, take the pan off the heat.

6. Let it sit for several minutes to finish the process.

6. Dump your popcorn into a bowl and enjoy! Add salt, pepper, butter, fresh or dried herbs or whatever you want, but remember to choose gluten-free options.

How to make popcorn in the microwave

If you are lucky to have a microwave, use it to make homemade popcorn.

1. Prepare a paper lunch bag and 1/2 cup of popcorn kernels.

2. Put the kernels in the bag, then fold the top of the bag several times to keep the kernels in.

3. Place the bag in the microwave for three minutes. Turn your microwave off when you hear that popping slows.

4. Be careful: the paper bag is extremely hot. Leave it in the microwave for several minutes to cool.

5. Remove the bag from the microwave carefully.

6. Enjoy your popcorn (you may do it straight from the bag!) You can also add salt, butter, or other gluten-free flavorings.

Popcorn is naturally gluten-free and safe for most people with gluten sensitivities or celiac disease. However, some popcorn products may be cross-contaminated with gluten, they also may contain glutenous ingredients. Always read the ingredient list or make homemade gluten-free popcorn in your kitchen.

Food